Library Administration

Sue Amend Woody, Director

Susan A. Woody

Susan Amend Woody began her new role as Director of the Des Moines Public Library in July, 2018.

Sue was born and raised in Des Moines. She learned her strong work ethic at a young age, delivering newspapers before school and working at Younkers Department Store throughout high school. She also spent time in the family business, Amend Meat Packing Company. She graduated from the University of Iowa with a finance degree and an English minor, then married her husband Michael in 1987. After five years, she left the banking industry to raise her two young sons, Thomas and Jack. In 1997 she opened The Alligator’s Tale, an iconic children’s bookstore.

She began her career with the Des Moines Public Library as a half-time storyteller, then became the full-time Rosie Outreach Coordinator, traveling the city to read to children and share her passion for literacy with central Iowa youth – a passion that continues today and guides her vision for the future.

“Literacy is the key to an educated community, and the Library is dedicated to offering lifelong and innovative learning opportunities,” she says.

Before becoming Director, Sue served as Branch Manager for both the South Side and Forest Avenue locations, then as Supervising Librarian of Community Engagement, a position that oversaw library marketing, publicity, outreach and community engagement efforts. She also planned and organized the Authors Visiting in Des Moines (AViD) author series.

In her spare time, Sue enjoys kayaking, gardening, teaching religious education, and, of course, reading.

 

Library Management

Linda Roe

Linda Roe | Deputy Director
LLRo@dmpl.org, 515.283.4102

Jennifer Tormey

Jennifer Tormey | Manager, Technical Services
JNTormey@dmpl.org, 515.283.4153

Sarah Scholten

Sarah Scholten | Manager, Central Library
SMScholten@dmpl.org, 515.283.4265

Brooke Santillan

Brooke Santillan | Supervisor, Central Library
BASantillan@dmpl.org, 515.283.6413

Ashley Molzen

Ashley Molzen | Supervisor, East Side Library
ARMolzen@dmpl.org, 515.248.6255

Nikki Hayter

Nikki Hayter | Supervisor, Forest Avenue Library
NMHayter@dmpl.org, 515.248.6265

Carolyn Greufe

Carolyn Greufe | Manager, Franklin Avenue Library
CEGreufe@dmpl.org, 515.248.6275

Jon Hobbs

Jon Hobbs | Supervisor, North Side Library
JTHobbs@dmpl.org, 515.248.6285

Brenda Hall

Brenda Hall | Supervisor, South Side Library
BKHall@dmpl.org, 515.248.6279

Tim Paluch

Tim Paluch | Supervisor, Community Engagement
tjpaluch@dmpl.org, 515.283.4288